Otobong Nkanga

Otobong Nkanga’s multidisciplinary practice spans drawing, photography, installation, video and performance, and focuses on the interrelation between environment, architecture and history. Her work weaves together concerns about land, natural resources, architecture, the value connected to them and the dynamic status of remembrance. These predominantly political topics are incorporated into poetic combinations of autobiographic and collective narratives, memories and concepts.

For the BelgianArtPrize, Otobong Nkanga is interested in the notions of corrosion, oxidation, impregnation and contamination. With three textile pieces and a steel sculpture, she continues to explore the transformation processes of materials. She experiments with crystallization of a textile piece (Steel to Rust – Slow Growth), or with a rusted and laser-cut plate in steel, evoking the effects of corrosion (Steel to Rust – Resistance), or in another textile piece with the slow impregnation of a liquid contaminating thus the poem that has been woven in it (In a Place Yet Unknown). Her inspiration comes from the transformation processes present in our society, seemingly built on cast-iron values, but in which hide beneath the surface (in)visible mechanisms of corrosion, crystallisation of ideologies and the birth of new structures, all signs of life.
 

 

Biography

Otobong Nkanga was born in 1974 in Kano, Nigeria, and has lived in Antwerp for nine years. She recently had solo exhibitions at Nottingham Contemporary (2016), In Situ Gallery in Paris (2016), Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive (2016), M HKA in Antwerp (2015), Somerset House in London (2015), Portikus in Frankfurt (2015), Kadist Art Foundation in Paris (2015) and the Performance Room at Tate Modern in London (2015). In 2016, she also had major international projects in Shanghai and Beirut (Landversation). She has taken part in several international group exhibitions, including the 13th Biennale de Lyon (2015), the 31st São Paulo Biennial (2014), the 8th Berlin Biennale (2014) and the Sharjah Biennial 11 (2013). She won the Yanghyun Prize in 2015. In 2013 – 2014, she was a guest of the DAAD Berliner Künstlerprogramm – Artists-in-Berlin Program.

In 2017 she participates at Documenta 14 in Athens and Kassel.

www.otobongnkanga.com

Stay Informed

By subscribing to our newsletter, you will also be informed about the activities of BOZAR and ING ART.

Otobong Nkanga

La pratique multidisciplinaire d’Otobong Nkanga couvre le dessin, la photographie, l’installation, la vidéo et la performance, et se concentre sur l’interconnexion entre l’environnement, l’architecture et l’histoire. Ses œuvres mettent en avant des préoccupations relatives au territoire, aux ressources naturelles, à l’architecture, à la valeur associée à ceux-ci et à la dynamique du souvenir. Ces thèmes de nature politique, principalement, sont intégrés dans des combinaisons poétiques de récits, souvenirs et concepts autobiographiques et collectifs.

Pour le BelgianArtPrize, Otobong Nkanga s’intéresse aux notions de corrosion, d’oxydation, d’imprégnation et de contamination. Avec trois tapisseries et une sculpture, elle continue son exploration des processus de transformation des matériaux en l’expérimentant tantôt avec des cristaux qui font corps avec une tapisserie (Steel to Dust – Slow Growth), tantôt avec une plaque d’acier rouillée qu’elle découpe au laser, évoquant ainsi l’effet de corrosion (Steel to Rust – Resistance), ou encore avec un textile qui s’imprègne lentement d’un liquide, contaminant ainsi le poème qui y est tissé (In a Place Yet Unknown). Elle s’inspire des modifications dans la société construite sur des valeurs apparemment inoxydables, mais où se cachent sous la surface des mécanismes (in)visibles d’altération, de cristallisation d’idéologies ainsi que la naissance de nouvelles structures, comme autant de signes de vie.

 

 

Biographie

Otobong Nkanga est née en 1974 à Kano, Nigeria, et vit depuis neuf ans à Anvers. Ses œuvres ont récemment fait l’objet d’expositions solo à : Nottingham Contemporary (2016), In Situ Gallery, Paris (2016), Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive (2016), MHKA, Anvers (2015), Somerset House, Londres (2015), Portikus, Francfort (2015), Kadist Art Foundation, Paris (2015) ou de projets internationaux à Shanghai (2016), et à Beyrouth (2016) ou encore celui qu’elle a réalisé dans la Performance Room de la Tate Modern à Londres (2015). Elle a pris part à différentes expositions de groupe comme la 13e Biennale de Lyon (2015), la 31e Biennale de São Paulo (2014), la 8e  Biennale de Berlin (2014) et la Sharjah Biennal 11 (2013). En 2013-2014, elle a été invitée au DAAD Berliner Künstlerprogramm – Artists-in-Berlin Program. Elle a également remporté le Yanghyun Prize 2015. En 2017, elle participe à la Documenta 14 à Athènes et à Kassel.

www.otobongnkanga.com

Rester Informé

En souscrivant à notre newsletter, vous serez également tenu au courant des activités de BOZAR et ING ART