The selection procedure and criteria

All Belgian artists or non-Belgian artists who have lived in Belgium for one year or more, irrespective of their age, can be nominated by a committee of experts made up of art professionals and collectors, called upon by the non-profit organisation La Jeune Peinture Belge to each nominate 5 artists.

National Jury

In a second phase, a national jury, which consisted in 2017 of the museum directors Denis Gielen (MAC’s), Dirk Snauwaert (WIELS), Phillip Van den Bossche (Mu.ZEE) and Philippe Van Cauteren (S.M.A.K.) alongside art collectors Gaël Van Lierde-Diercxsens, Frédéric de Goldschmidt and Tanguy Van Quickenborne, selects the 4 finalists from this longlist.

These artists have been invited to exhibit new works for the exhibition to be held at the Centre for Fine Arts between 17 March and 28 May 2017.

International Jury

The international jury will choose the winner of the BelgianArtPrize amongst the 4 finalists. The members of the jury of the edition 2017 are Beatrix Ruf (Director of the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam), Hans Ulrich Obrist (Artistic Director of the Serpentine Galleries in London) and Dieter Roelstraete (Co-curator of Documenta 14). The art collectors are Mimi Dusselier (who has been involved with visual arts for the past 30 years) and Estelle Francès Lasserre (Fondation d’Entreprise Francès).

The international jury is chaired by Sophie Lauwers (Head of exhibitions BOZAR) and Roland Gillion Crowet (President of the non-profit organisation La Jeune Peinture Belge).

The complete regulations of the 2017 edition of the Prize are already available in FR and NL and will soon be available in ENG.

Stay Informed

By subscribing to our newsletter, you will also be informed about the activities of BOZAR and ING ART.