Edith Dekyndt

Edith Dekyndt experiments with the possibilities of the most ordinary materials, which she brings into the artistic domain. Traditional considerations of Fine Arts have no place in her approach, which breaks with the secrecy of the artist’s studio to operate in the open, in complete immersion in the world. Her work invites us to change not only our perspective, but also our way of being and of influencing the world.

The new work They Shoot Horses that Edith Dekyndt has created for the BelgianArtPrize clamps the viewer between a velvet curtain perforated with steel nails and a screen showing short archive films of the Marathon Dances from the 1930s. The is reminiscent of the kind of curtain that falls after a stage performance in a concert hall. This luxurious and comfortable velvet fabric that reminds of a curtain that falls after a stage performance, stands in sharp contrast to the cool hardness of the nails that pierce the fabric. The installation references the iron curtain that blocks the Centre for Fine Arts’ Southern entrance, and by extension, the way that fences raise everywhere in the world. The work links also the history of reality shows to the society of today. In the archive fragments that show couples dancing days and days until they collapse from exhaustion for the free food and the chance to win a cash prize, the artist sees a resonance with the situation in which many deprived people find themselves today.

Biography

Edith Dekyndt was born in Belgium in 1960 and lives and works in Berlin. Lately, her works have been exhibited in solo exhibitions at the DAAD in Berlin, WIELS in Brussels, the Consortium in Dijon, Witte de With in Rotterdam, Mac’s in Hornu. Her works are on display in international private and public collections. Edith Dekyndt is now in residence at the Pinault Collection, near the Musée du Louvre Lens and on the invitation of the french curator Christine Macel, she will present  an installation at the international exhibition of the Venice Biennale 2017.  

 

Stay Informed

By subscribing to our newsletter, you will also be informed about the activities of BOZAR and ING ART.

Edith Dekyndt

Edith Dekyndt expérimente les possibilités des matériaux les plus ordinaires qu’elle incorpore dans le champ de l’art. Les considérations classiques sur les beaux-arts n’ont plus cours dans sa démarche, qui rompt avec le secret de l’atelier pour opérer à découvert, en complète immersion dans le monde. Ses œuvres nous invitent à changer non seulement notre regard mais aussi notre façon d’être et d’influer sur le monde.

La nouvelle œuvre They Shoot Horses qu’Edith Dekyndt a créée pour le BelgianArtPrize place le spectateur entre une géante tenture de velours perforée de clous d’acier et un écran sur lequel sont montrés de petits films d’archives faisant revivre les cruels marathons de danse des années 1930. Cette étoffe luxueuse et confortable faisant penser au rideau qui tombe après la représentation contraste violemment avec la froideur et la dureté des clous qui en sortent. L’installation renvoie au « rideau de fer » qui bloque l’accès Sud du Palais des Beaux-Arts depuis les attentats terroristes à Bruxelles, et par extension évoque les clôtures qui s’élèvent partout dans le monde. La pièce relie également l’histoire des reality-shows à la société d’aujourd’hui. Dans les extraits d’archives, qui montrent des couples dansant parfois pendant des jours et des jours jusqu’à l’épuisement total pour manger gratuitement et tenter de remporter une cagnotte, Dekyndt voit une résonance avec la situation dans laquelle beaucoup de démunis se trouvent aujourd’hui.

 

 

 

 

Biographie

 

Née en Belgique en 1960, Edith Dekyndt vit et travaille à Berlin. Ces dernières années, on a pu voir ses œuvres dans des expositions individuelles à la DAAD Gallery de Berlin, au Wiels et à la Greta Meert Gallery à Bruxelles, au Consortium à Dijon, au Witte de With à Rotterdam, au MAC’s du Grand-Hornu. On retrouve son travail artistique dans des collections internationales, privées comme publiques. Edith Dekyndt est actuellement en résidence à la Pinault Collection, près du Musée du Louvre Lens. Elle présentera  une installation  dans l’exposition  internationale à la Biennale de Venise 2017 sous l’égide de la commissaire française Christine Macel.

 

Rester Informé

En souscrivant à notre newsletter, vous serez également tenu au courant des activités de BOZAR et ING ART