Denicolai & Provoost

The Italian-Belgian duo, formed by Simona Denicolai & Ivo Provoost, are multidisciplinary artists who work with – but not exclusively – animation, objects, installations, performance, video, and publishing. They seek to offer collaborative and procedural approaches, sometimes over the long term, sometimes as a one-off performance, that involve complicity and collaboration with people who are not from the world of art but who are an integral part of the worlds that surround us. They often borrow the elements that are present in a context to combine them, separate them or assemble them together, and to create a language. They work more like intermediaries between the various components of a context to make them interact with each other through their own forms. It is this role of intermediary (or ‘director of the real’) that interests them the most: What is the artist’s role in the city?

The project EYELINER that Denicolai & Provoost have conceived for the BelgianArtPrize, focuses on objects that are displayed in the windows of small merchants and on window ledges, and thus also focuses on the people that put them there. These objects offer a more profound glimpse behind the scenes of the city. They are taking up the role of a director who creates scenarios with the available material. The artists exhibit objects that they have found lying around in the public space and through them expose the nervous system of an urban environment, for these things also lie around in the collective consciousness. Every individual object therefore fits into a wider discourse that is intertwined with the history and individuality of a place. The exhibition, that was already there in the city, can be visited after May 28, 2017 using a guidebook presenting the objects and their owners, complete with their addresses and biographies.

For their installation in the BelgianArtPrize 2017, the artists received the generous support of  :

 

Biography

The artistic duo Denicolai & Provoost lives in Brussels and has been working together since 1997. Simona Denicolai (b. 1972, Milan) and Ivo Provoost (b. 1974, Diksmuide) have staged multiple exhibitions of their work at international institutions such as S.M.A.K. (Ghent, 2005), Le Carré (Château-Gontier, 2008), IAC, Villeurbanne, Le plateau FRAC Ile-de-France (Paris, 2011), Le Quartier (Quimper, 2015), the M HKA (Antwerp, 2016), Spazio Ridotto (Venice, 2016), and Brno Biennial (Czech Republic, 2016). Their work is included in private and public collections in Belgium: Mu.ZEE (Ostend), S.M.A.K. (Ghent), MAC’s (Hornu), B.P.S. 22 (Charleroi), and in France: FRAC des Pays de la Loire (Carquefou), FRAC Haute-Normandie (Rouen), FRAC Bourgogne (Dijon) and IAC (Villeurbanne).

www.denicolai-provoost.com

Stay Informed

By subscribing to our newsletter, you will also be informed about the activities of BOZAR and ING ART.

Denicolai & Provoost

Artistes multidisciplinaires, le duo italo-belge formé par Simona Denicolai et Ivo Provoost travaille avec de l’animation, des objets, des installations, de la performance, de la vidéo et de l’édition. Ils proposent volontiers des protocoles collaboratifs et processuels, parfois sur le long terme, parfois sous forme de performance ponctuelle, qui impliquent des collaborations avec des acteurs qui ne sont pas liés au monde de l’art, et qui sont à plein titre des constituants des mondes qui nous entourent. Ils empruntent souvent des éléments existants dans un contexte de les associer, dissocier, assembler les uns aux autres et formuler un langage. Ils fonctionnent d’avantage comme des intermédiaires entre les différents composants d’un contexte, pour les faire dialoguer au travers de leurs propres formes. C’est cette position de l’intermédiaire (ou de ‘régisseur du réel’) qui les intéresse le plus : quel est le rôle de l’artiste dans la cité ?

Le projet EYELINER que Denicolai & Provoost ont réalisé pour le BelgianArtPrize est consacré aux objets exposés dans les vitrines de petits commerces ou sur les appuis de fenêtre et, à travers eux, aux gens qui les y ont mis. Ces objets laissent entrevoir d’une manière plus intense les coulisses de la ville. Comme des réalisateurs créant des scénarios avec ce qui est disponible, les artistes montrent des objets qui traînent dans l’espace public et dévoilent le système nerveux de la société urbaine, puisqu’ils sont également présents dans notre conscience collective. Chaque objet individuel s’inscrit donc dans un discours plus large, intimement lié à l’histoire et à la particularité d’un lieu. L’exposition, qui existait en fait déjà dans la ville, peut être visitée après le 28 mai 2017 à l’aide d’un guide conçu par les artistes présentant les objets et leurs propriétaires, leurs adresses et leurs histoires.

Pour leur installation dans le BelgianArtPrize 2017, les artistes ont bénéficié du généreux soutien de :

 

Biographie

Le duo d’artistes Denicolai & Provoost vit à Bruxelles et s’est formé en 1997. Simona Denicolai (née en 1972, à Milan, IT) et Ivo Provoost (né en 1974, à Dixmude, BE) ont exposé dans de nombreuses institutions internationales comme le S.M.A.K., Gand (2005) ; Le Carré, Château-Gontier (2008) ; IAC, Villeurbanne (2011) ; Le plateau Frac Île-de-France, Paris (2011) ; Le Quartier, Quimper (2015) ; le MHKA, Anvers (2016) ; Spazio Ridotto, Venise (2016) et la Biennale de Brno (Tchéquie, 2016). Leurs œuvres figurent dans des collections publiques et privées belges : B.P.S. 22 (Charleroi), MAC’s (Hornu), Mu.ZEE (Ostende), Netwerk (Alost), S.M.A.K. (Gand) ; et françaises : Frac des Pays de la Loire (Carquefou), FRAC Haute-Normandie (Rouen), Frac Bourgogne (Dijon) et IAC (Villeurbanne).

 www.denicolai-provoost.com

Rester Informé

En souscrivant à notre newsletter, vous serez également tenu au courant des activités de BOZAR et ING ART